A very British Japanese joke…

August 24, 2011

Two men are talking in bar…

First man: I’ve been having rather bad dreams lately.

Second man: You’re not the only one.

First man: I get back to my apartment and there’s a gorgeous bottle of whiskey sitting on my desk. I think ‘Oh great!’ and take a hold but there’s a hole in the bottom.

Second man: My dream’s the opposite.

First man: Oh yeah?

Second man: Yeah. I get back to my apartment and there’s a gorgeous beauty sitting on my chair. I think ‘Oh great!’ and grab hold but there’s no hole in the bottom.

Taken from Takashi Atoda’s ‘Burakku Joku Taizen’ (Encyclopedia of Black Jokes). The guy was also a highly acclaimed writer of novels and short stories. Check it out… http://beautyisasleepingcat.wordpress.com/2011/01/14/takashi-atoda-the-square-persimmon-and-other-stories-1991-magical-japanese-short-stories/

2 Responses to “A very British Japanese joke…”

  1. Caroline Says:

    Very British, I agree…I wouldn’t have expected a joke like that coming from Takashi Atoda…
    This is quite an impressive site you have here. It’s great to know that there is a resource for Japanese short fiction.

  2. nikzback Says:

    Thank you. I also found a compilation of flash fiction edited by Takashi Atoda. He’s chosen other people’s stories which caught his eye. My next post is gonna be one of those stories.

    Keep up the good work 🙂


Leave a Reply

